Department of Modern Languages and Literature

Modern Languages and Literature Faculty

Chair of the Department

Federica Capoferri 2005
Associate Professor of Italian Language and Literature
Laurea, University of Parma, 1993
M.A., University of Virginia, 1997
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2003
Email: fcapoferri@johncabot.edu

Professors

Ada Bertini-Bezzi 1998
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Rome "La Sapienza", 1986
Master in Didactics of Italian as a Foreign Language, University of Venice "Ca' Foscari," 2005
Postgraduate Diploma in Phonodidactics, University of Venice "Ca' Foscari," 2011
Email: abertini@johncabot.edu

Isabella Clough Marinaro 2006
Associate Professor of Italian Studies
B.A., Bath University, UK, 1994
Ph.D., Bath University, UK, 2006
Email: iclough@johncabot.edu

Berenice Cocciolillo 1992
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Italian
B.A., New York University, 1981
M.A., New York University, 1983
Email: bcocciolillo@johncabot.edu

Catherine de Montalembert 2012
Lecturer in French
MA, SUNY at Stony Brook, NY, 1998
Doctorat, Bordeaux III University, 2000
Email: cdemontalembert@johncabot.edu

Valentina Dorato 2004
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea Magistralis, University of Rome "La Sapienza", 2002
Master of Didactics in Italian as a Second Language, University of  Rome "Roma Tre", 2004
DITALS, European Certification for Teaching Italian As a Second Language, 2006
Email: vdorato@johncabot.edu

Angela Eliseo 2005
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Rome “La Sapienza," 2004
Master, Didactics of Italian as a Second Language, Università per Stranieri, Perugia
DITALS II Level Certification in Teaching Italian as a Foreign Language, 2009
Email: aeliseo@johncabot.edu

Rosa Filardi 1998
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Bologna, D.A.M.S., 1986
Email: rfilardi@johncabot.edu

Sarah Franceschi 2004
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Rome "La Sapienza," 2004
Master in Didactics of Italian as a Foreign Language,
University of Venice "Ca' Foscari," 2015
Email: sfranceschi@johncabot.edu

Matilde Galante 2004
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Rome "La Sapienza", 1968
Email: mgalante@johncabot.edu

Elena Grillo 2004
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Messina, 2001
Master, University of Padova, 2002
Email: egrillo@johncabot.edu

Elisa Marani 2015
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Urbino, 2005
M.A., Middlebury College, 2014
DITALS II, European Certification for Teaching Italian As a Second Language, 2011
Email: emarani@johncabot.edu

Anna Mauceri Trimnell 2005
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Italian
Laurea, University of Pavia, 1992
Dottorato di Ricerca, University for Foreigners of Siena, 2005
Email: amauceri@johncabot.edu

Bruno Montefusco 2015
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Salerno, Italy, 1989
DITALS, European Certification for Teaching Italian As a Second Language, 2008
Master of Didactics in Italian as a Second Language, University of Rome "Tor Vergata," 2018
Email: bmontefusco@johncabot.edu

Rosa Napoli 2002
Lecturer in Italian
Laurea, University of Rome "La Sapienza", 1992
Email: rnapoli@johncabot.edu

Paolo Prato 2017
Lecturer in Italian Studies

Laurea, University of Genoa, 1979
M.A., New School for Social Research, New York, 1982


Email: pprato@johncabot.edu

Sofia Sanz Alonso 2013
Lecturer in Spanish
Sofia Sanz Alonso, 2013
Lecturer in Spanish
Laurea, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 2006
Master II Livello, University of Rome "La Sapienza," 2008
Email: salonso@johncabot.edu

James Schwarten 2012
Lecturer in Italian and Italian Studies
B.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: jschwarten@johncabot.edu

Gina Siddu Pilia 2002
Lecturer in Italian
Coordinator of the Foreign Language Resource Center
Laurea, 
University of Florence, 1988
Master II livello, University of Rome "La Sapienza," 2018
Email: gsiddupilia@johncabot.edu

Federica Capoferri

Federica Capoferri

2005
Associate Professor of Italian Language and Literature

Laurea, University of Parma, 1993
M.A., University of Virginia, 1997
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2003
Email: fcapoferri@johncabot.edu

Federica Capoferri teaches Italian Literature, Italian Language, and History of Italian Cinema at John Cabot University. She holds a laurea in Materie Letterarie (University of Parma), an M.A. in Italian (University of Virginia), and an M.Phil. and Ph.D. in Italian (Columbia University). Her research interests include modern and postmodern Italian literature, critical and theoretical intersections between literature and cinema, and cinematic screenplays as a literary genre.

Read Professor Capoferri's complete CV.

List of Publications